Tag: Uttam Kumar Reddy

Trouble brews for Telangana Congress, 12 of 18 MLAs meet Speaker for merger with TRS

After facing a humiliating defeat in the Assembly election held in Telangana in December, the Congress is facing an embarrassing situation with its legislature party set to merge with the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS).

Twelve of 18 Congress MLAs on Thursday met Telangana Assembly Speaker Pocharam Srinivas to seek a merger of the faction with the regional party.

As per the rule, 2/3rd of the elected members are required for merger of any political party. Of the total 19 MLAs of the Telangana Assembly Congress, 12 have shifted loyalty to the ruling TRS.

The Congress legislative council has already merged itself into TRS with three out of four MLCs joining the ruling party.

On Wednesday, Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) president N Uttam Kumar Reddy submitted his resignation as an MLA from Huzurnagar, after his victory from Nalgonda.

Uttam Kumar Reddy’s resignation had brought the required number for a merger further down. Uttam Kumar Reddy along with Congress MLAs held a protest against the merger at the Gandhi statues inside the assembly on Thursday.

Congress leaders alleged it was an effort to completely silent the opposition voice in the assembly while alleging that a money trail was behind the MLAs joining the ruling TRS party.

Reddy Quits As MLA Reluctantly

Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee president Capt N Uttam Kumar Reddy, who was once dreaming to become the chief minister, is now compelled to leave the state for Delhi.

On Wednesday, Uttam resigned from his assembly membership, albeit reluctantly, as he got elected as Lok Sabha member from Nalgonda district.

He went to the state assembly and submitted his resignation letter to assembly secretary Narasimha Charyulu.

In fact, after winning the Huzurnagar assembly seat with a very less margin in December elections, Uttam was happy as he thought he would continue to enjoy power in the party in Telangana.

Despite the serious loss in the assembly elections, Uttam continued as the PCC chief and was helplessly watching the party MLAs defecting to the TRS one after the other.

But when the Congress high command had chosen him for Nalgonda Lok Sabha seat, as there were no other suitable candidates to fight the election, Uttam could not say no though he was not interested in going to Delhi. And surprisingly, he won the LS seat defeating the TRS.

Now, the time has come for Uttam to move to Delhi. According to party sources, he is unlikely to continue as PCC chief and will have to hand over the mantle to some other seniors.

Uttam Kumar Reddy to contest from Nalgonda

No Comments

The Congress party on Monday night named its Telangana state chief Uttam Kumar Reddy as the candidate from Nalgonda Lok Sabha seat while AICC secretary Madhu Goud Yashki will contest from Nizamabad.

The Congress party, which had announced candidates for eight Lok Sabha seats in Telangana on March 15, announced the candidates for eight more seats around midnight.

The party has not yet taken a decision on Khammam, from where former Union Minister Renuka Chowdhury is a contender for the party ticket.

Former Indian cricket captain Mohammad Azharuddin and actress Vijaya Shanti, both former MPs and among the key aspirants, were ignored in the second list.

Uttam Kumar Reddy is currently a member of Telangana state Assembly. Madhu Yashki, who is in-charge of party affairs in Karnataka, will take on Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao’s daughter K. Kavitha in Nizamabad constituency.

Komatireddy Venkat Reddy (Bhongir), Mallu Ravi (Nagarkurnool) and Vamshi Chand Reddy (Mahabubnagar), who were defeated in Assembly elections held in December figured in the second list.

Firoz Khan, who too was defeated in Assembly polls, will take on Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) president Asaduddin Owaisi in Hyderabad.

Azharuddin was reportedly keen to contest from Secunderabad but the party preferred former MP Anjan Kumar Yadav.

The Congress has announced Dommati Sambaiah as the candidate for Warangal seat.

Congress accuses TRS of engineering defections

No Comments

The Telangana state Congress staged a sit-in at the Assembly premises, here on Sunday, protesting against the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) for allegedly engineering defections in the opposition party.

The party announced that it would wage a full scale constitutional battle against Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao who engineered defection of two Congress MLAs — Athram Sakku and Rega Kantha Rao — to the TRS ahead of elections to the state Legislative Council, scheduled on March 12.

Wearing black badges, state Congress chief N. Uttam Kumar Reddy, along with Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka and other MLAs and MLCs staged the protest.

The Congress leaders said despite getting majority in the recent elections, the TRS was trying to engineer defections to ensure that there is no opposition to it in the state.

Reddy accused KCR of turning Telangana into a symbol of oppression and injustices.

He demanded immediate disqualification from the House of both MLAs to deprive them their voting rights in the MLC elections. A complaint would also be lodged with the Election Commission seeking their immediate disqualification, he added.

Reddy said it was essential for all, especially the elected representatives, to honour the decision of the people to facilitate the functioning of state in a democratic manner.

CLP leader Bhatti Vikramarka accused KCR of murdering the democracy in Telangana. He said the Congress would expose the unconstitutional and undemocratic practices of KCR.