KCR declares TRS candidates for MLC bypolls

TRS chief and Telangana CM K Chandrasekhar Rao sprang a surprise by selecting Patnam Mahender Reddy as TRS candidate for Ranga Reddy MLC bypoll under local bodies quota.

KCR has been claiming all these days that those who lost elections will not be given another chance to contest polls or in nominated posts.

Patnam Mahender Reddy, who worked as transport minister in KCR’s cabinet lost recent Assembly polls from Tandur Assembly seat to Congress candidate Pilot Rohit Reddy.

KCR on Sunday announced Patnam Mahender Reddy for Ranga Reddy seat, TRS joint secretary Pochampally Srinivas Reddy for Warangal seat and another Tera Chinnappa Reddy for Nalgonda seat under local authorities constituencies quota.

All three candidates are likely to file their nominations on Monday as the last date for submission of nominations is May 14.

The State Election Commission issued notification for conducting bypolls to three MLC local authorities constituencies which fell vacant following resignation of the sitting MLCs.

While the polling will be held on May 31 from 8 am to 4 pm, the counting of votes will be held on June 3 followed by announcement of results.

Patnam Narender Reddy and Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy resigned to their MLC posts following their election as MLA in the recent Assembly elections.

Konda Murali also resigned to his post after he shifted to Congress party from the ruling TRS before the Assembly elections.

Accordingly, the MLC seats of Ranga Reddy, Nalgonda and Warangal under local authorities quota, fell vacant.

TRS leadership is worried over MLC bypolls.

This is because TRS supported candidates lost all the three seats in MLC polls held last month under employees and teachers constituencies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *